Eleven seniors inducted into Cum Laude Society

The Upper School has inducted 11 members of the Class of 2018 into the Cum Laude Society. The society acknowledges scholarly achievement for “the purpose of promoting excellence, justice, and honor.” To be inducted in the fall of their senior year, a student must be among the top 10% of the senior class, as measured by grade point average. Congratulations to the following students: Chase Andre, Andrew Ayers, David Gantt, Nathan Kapsin, Owen McManus, Lucy Meigs, Elise Shattuck, Halle Shephard, Richard Stevens, Helena Ware, and Carrie Zaremba.

Cum Laude chapters may elect up to 20 percent of seniors who have an honor record. Friends will induct 11 more members of the Class of 2018 into the Cum Laude Society during the Senior Awards Ceremony on Friday, June 8 2018.

Founded in 1906 and modeled after Phi Beta Kappa, the Cum Laude Society is a nonprofit organization dedicated to honoring scholastic achievement in secondary schools. Cum Laude has grown to 382 chapters, approximately two dozen of which are located in public schools and the rest in independent schools. Membership is predominantly in the United States, but chapters also are located in Canada, England, France, Spain, Puerto Rico and the Philippines. Some 4,000 new student members are inducted annually.
5114 North Charles Street | Baltimore, MD 21210 | 410-649-3200
Privacy Policy